Arafura makes leadership changes as Nolans advances  

Arafura Rare Earths (ASX:ARU) has made several key executive leadership position changes as momentum builds towards delivering the Nolans Project.

The revamped team comes less than a month after the Australian government committed to provide up to $840 million to Arafura’s rare earths mine and refinery located 125km north of Alice Springs.

Yesterday (10 April 2024), Arafura announced Stuart Macnaughton has now started as Chief Operating Officer, which the company says underpins the next phase of growth.

Shaan Beccarelli started as Head of Corporate Affairs and Investor Relations in March. And Tanya Perry was promoted to Head of Sustainability and Environment in February.

Arafura Managing Director and CEO Darryl Cuzzubbo says attracting a COO with Macnaughton’s credentials signifies the quality of the Nolans Project and Arafura’s growth potential.

“These appointments signify that Arafura is on the pathway to successfully delivering the Nolans Project and ensuring our stakeholders and communities are highly engaged with us.”

During construction the Nolans Project is poised to create more than 200 jobs, with some 125 full-time jobs ongoing.

In announcing its funding commitment in March, the government said the investment ‘will position Australia as a global leader in ethical and sustainable manufacturing of these minerals’.

Rare earths are used to make powerful magnets and are an essential component in renewable energy and defence technologies. Electric vehicle motors, wind turbines, robotics and mobile phones are examples of the kinds of technologies that rely on rare earths, as reported by

Write to Adam Orlando at

Images: Arafura
Author Image
Written By Adam Orlando Editor-in-Chief Adam Orlando has more than 20 years’ experience in the media having held senior roles at various publications, including as Asia-Pacific Sector Head (Mining) at global newswire Acuris (formerly Mergermarket). Orlando has worked in newsrooms around the world including Hong Kong, Singapore, London, and Sydney.